Appointments of Hong Kong, China’s Representatives to ABAC announced

The Government today (December 28) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Nicholas Ho and Ms Mary Huen as Hong Kong, China’s Representatives,

and Mr Spencer Fung and Ms Nisa Leung as Alternate Representatives, to the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Advisory Council (ABAC), all for a term of two years commencing January 1, 2021.

Meanwhile, Dr Allan Zeman and Dr Jonathan Choi will be retiring from ABAC as Hong Kong, China’s Representatives, and Dr Aron Hari Harilela will be retiring as Alternate Representative to ABAC.

“I am grateful to Mr Ho, Ms Huen, Mr Fung and Ms Leung for agreeing to represent Hong Kong, China in ABAC. Their wealth of business experience will surely inject further impetus into the work of ABAC. I would also like to express my appreciation to Dr Zeman, Dr Choi and Dr Harilela for their wise counsel and contributions to the work of ABAC during the past years,” the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said.

On the ABAC appointments, Mr Nicholas Ho is the Chairman of hpa (Ho & Partners Architects Engineers and Development Consultants Limited), Ms Mary Huen is the Chief Executive Officer of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited, Mr Spencer Fung is the Group Executive Chairman of Li & Fung, and Ms Nisa Leung is the Managing Partner of Qiming Development (HK) Limited.

ABAC was established in 1996 as a permanent business advisory body to provide advice to APEC on business sector priorities. Hong Kong, China has appointed three Representatives and two Alternate Representatives to ABAC. Currently, Ms Marjorie Yang, the Chairman of Esquel Group, is the other Representative.