Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform

The Financial Secretary has appointed Mr Johnny Mok, SC, as the new Chairman of the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR) for a term running from February 1, 2021, to January 31, 2023.
Mr Mok is a Senior Counsel with broad commercial and public law practice experience. He will succeed Mr John Scott, SC, the outgoing Chairman who has served the SCCLR for six years.

The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said today (January 29), “We look forward to the SCCLR’s continuous valuable advice to the Government on matters relating to company law reform under the leadership of Mr Mok. The Committee’s advice is essential in advising the Government on reforming Hong Kong’s company law regime that underpins our status as a premier international commercial and financial centre.”

He added, “We are grateful to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Scott, for his valuable contributions during his tenure. With his able leadership, Mr Scott has steered the SCCLR in providing insightful advice on the company and insolvency laws in Hong Kong.”
The Financial Secretary has also appointed two new Members, Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping and Ms Jacqueline Walsh, to the SCCLR, succeeding Mr Bruno Arboit and Mr Keith Pogson who have served the SCCLR for six years. Five incumbent members, namely Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin, Professor Low Chee-keong, Ms Gillian Meller and Mr Bernie Ting Wai-cheung, have also been re-appointed. The appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years with effect from February 1, 2021.
Mr Hui said, “We are grateful to the outgoing Members, Mr Arboit and Mr Pogson, for their valuable contributions during the past six years.”
The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders’ protection, as and when necessary.
As from February 1, 2021, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:
Mr Johnny Mok, SC (Chairman)
Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing
Mr Paul Chow
Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin
Ms Julianne Pearl Doe
Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping
Mr Jason Karas
Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, SC
Mr Robert Lee Wai-wang
Professor Low Chee-keong
Ms Gillian Meller
Mr Albert Ng
Mrs Natalia Seng Sze Ka-mee
Ms Cynthia Tang Yuen-shun
Mr Bernie Ting Wai-cheung
Ms Jacqueline Walsh
Ms Tiffany Wong
Ex-officio Members
Ms Bonnie Chan Yiting
Head of Listing
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Mr Stefan Gannon
Commissioner, Resolution Office
Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Ms Annabel Lee Tung-mei
Deputy Chief Counsel, Legal Services Division
Securities and Futures Commission
Ms Kitty Tsui Lai-ching
Acting Registrar of Companies
Ms Phyllis McKenna
Official Receiver
Mr Sam Hui Chark-shum
Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
Dr Stefan Lo Huoy-cheng
Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law)
Department of Justice